Lux: Beginnings (Obsidian and Onyx) Book Review


Lux: Beginnings (Obsidian and Onyx) Book Review

Here it is guys! My first ever (official) book review! Woo, baby’s first book review. Okay, that’s enough. Let’s get into it. It’s probably going to be a little rambly and super informal, but bear with me please. Again, it’s my first review.

 So, January was a poor reading month for me. And by poor I mean, I didn’t finish a single book. BUT that’s okay, it’s fine, it’s whatever. February has (so far) been alright. I finished Beginnings (Obsidian and Onyx otherwise known as The Lux series) by Jennifer L Armentrout (aka one of my all-time favorite authors).
I’m going to try and make this review as “un-spoilery” as I possibly can, but no promises, okay?

Where do I even start? How about I start with hot, sexy, badass aliens. That’s right aliens. Have I sold you on it yet? No?

Okay well how about we talk about Katy Swartz. Katy is by far one of the most relatable characters I have ever read about. She loves books. And I mean LOVES books, she even has her own book blog. She actually inspired me to start my own blog, so hey thanks Katy! Not only is she a fellow bookworm, she’s also strong-willed, (at times) frustratingly stubborn, and she can hold her own. Katy is just such a fun character, I love her to bits.
Alright, now Daemon Black. Daemon. Daemon. Daemon. What can I say about him other than he’s a loveable, jerk-face, swoon worthy, arrogant, sexy alien. Honestly Daemon is bae. He’s sulky, he’s moody, and he’s a little brooding. But he’s also actually really kind, and loveable, and sweet. Trust me the combination works.
And don’t even get me started on the chemistry between Katy and Daemon. It’s real and it’s wonderful.
I can’t forget about Dee, lovely sweet Dee! Dee is Daemon’s twin sister and she takes to Katy instantly (dying for a “normal” friend due to circumstances you later find out about). Dee is so wonderful and honestly a really good friend to Katy. I love her bubbly personality and it’s hard not to like her.

This series is addicting. And I’m sorry, but I’m going to make the comparison. It’s everything and yet absolutely nothing like Twilight all at the same time. If you’ve read Obsidian and Onyx then you understand what I mean, but if you haven’t just trust me.

Plot! Right, yes! I probably should have discussed this first, but oh well. I’m doing it now. Basically all you need to know is Katy and her mother moved to West Virginia, from Florida, a while after her father has passed away from cancer. Katy’s mom wants a new start, a fresh beginning and they end up living in a house right next to Daemon and Dee. A set of twins that change Katy’s world forever. Yep. That’s it. It’s full of action, humor, and duh, romance. I can’t wait to continue this series (I’m currently reading Consequences (Opal and Origin) so keep an eye out for that review once I finish it).

“Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the holy trinity of hot boys.” –Obsidian

Honestly if that isn’t the truth I don’t know what is!

If you’ve made it this far, I commend you. No, but honestly thank you for reading! I really hope you enjoyed my review! And stay tuned for my next one!

4 thoughts on “Lux: Beginnings (Obsidian and Onyx) Book Review”

Leave a Reply

